With or without distractions, you’re still just dealing with yourself. Practice in a cave, practice in traffic, practice joyfully, practice diligently, practice because you think you ought to, it’s all the same. Lest we forget that all in the yoga practice is a reflection of our deepest, and sometimes most hidden selves, this week, remember. And when distractions come up, acknowledge them, let them know they are seen, heard, and felt, for they are not separate from the practice that runs like a smooth engine.

At the height of summer, I am distracted. The days are long, and much is accomplished in each cycle of sunlight, yet I consistently feel that I can do more. Why aren’t hours for asana presenting themselves? Why haven’t I finished a book in July? Why do I put off making dinner until it is dark? The summer heat rather aggravates my body, which leads to mild, but persistent discomfort: a little extra heaviness, angry and clogged pores, dryness, heat in my feet. I do my best to remember that the remedies I know will help me feel more comfortable are a part of my work, just as it is to sit, to stretch, and to wonder. It’s a full time job tending this body in the heat, and it gobbles hours like popsicles.

I eat coconut. I sip cucumber water. I put my butt in the pond, and wait until a coolness settles from skin, to bone, into mind. The high desert summer sun is a reality of my world, and it rather messes with the balance of my body and soul. I learn much from the buzzing activity of the summertime, run screaming for the hills and the rivers, and give thanks to live in a place that is ever-shifting its temperature, and feel. The four seasons offer a perfect place to practice, and metaphor for the always needed reassessment of reality, which is only happening in this moment. For when the rains come, though all the problems of the world have not been solved, I am feeling better than before. And so, all is well.

All shall be well. All shall be well. All manner of things shall be well.” ~Saint Julian

Love and be well,

Suki

Leave a Reply

