Genevieve’s Spring Yoga Challenge, Day 1

I have jumped in.  I have taken a chance.  I have committed myself to 21 yoga classes in 30 days, as well as writing about the experience here in conjunction with those classes.  I choose to share this experience with a desire to inspire others to participate, as well as reveal the experience I have as a student on the path of yoga.

In June of 2013 I fell down a flight of stairs which disturbed a spinal fusion I received in June of 1996.  Essentially, this compounded experience has left my body in a constant state of discomfort which makes the stakes of completing a yoga challenge at this time even higher.  It is my intention to use the journey as an opportunity to feel better while continuing to explore my own boundaries of comfort, safety and right effort.

This morning I deeply enjoyed attending Bonnie’s Hatha Yoga class at 7:30 am.  The pace in my opinion  was just right for an early morning class, not to slow, not too fast.  Bonnie’s teaching voice is calming and kind, and her instruction is clear and focused.  Savasana was the best, as I sweetly relaxed and went away for a little while.  Upon returning to my conscious seat of awareness was an invitation to breath in Inspiration and Joy, which left me feeling utterly delighted.

I am happy to be able to share the sweet beginning of what I am sure will be an adventure over the course of the next 30 days.  I’ll keep you posted on the winding, climbing, and descents of the journey.

With Love,

Genevieve

Leave a Reply

